If you’re in the armed forces, you probably know about the Ministry of Defence’s Enhanced Learning Credit scheme. The scheme enables its members to pursue learning and education for the rest of their lives.

Who is eligible?

If, since April 1st, you have served for four years, you are entitled to the lower tier of credits, or the higher tier if you have served eight years. However, if you were injured before you had the chance to serve the required number of years, you could still receive credits.

When can you claim?

You can claim your credits for ten years following your leaving date, but they can only be claimed once per year and saved for three years, though these don’t need to be consecutive.

What can your credits be used for?

Credits can be claimed against resettlement courses that are offered by providers who are registered and certified. These include companies like Trade Skills 4U for courses that are considered to be level three or higher in difficulty.

What should you consider before using your credits?

Although it might be tempting to cash in your learning credits on any course, it’s important to consider whether it’s right for your personal development. You’ll also need to bear in mind that other commitments may prevent you from completing the course, so try and make sure you’ll be able to see it through until the end. Lastly, the centre you’ve chosen may or may not be within a commutable distance, so consider the cost of accommodation or relocation.

Contact us

Here at Logistics Learning Alliance, we are committed to offering people the chance to earn logistics qualifications UK wide. Many of our courses are also enhanced learning credits courses, meaning you can access our online logistics courses using the credits you’ve accumulated from your service. Get in touch to learn more.

LLA Logistics Learning Alliance